Jo Crawshaw

Well done to Jo Crawshaw who is representing South Africa in the SOS Island

Jo CrawshawI caught up with fellow blogger, Jo Crawshaw before she left South Africa to take part in a new survival game. Jo is representing South Africa in the SOS Island competition and she could win a whole Island.

Jo is going up against 8 other contestants and she is the only person from Africa in the running for the Island. The other finalists include Rosy McMichael, Chris Thompson, Brittany Joyal and Karen Constant from the United States;  Graham Hughes of the U.K.; Liron Maimon of Israel and Mert Erdir of Turkey.

Mika Stefano:  Why do you think you were chosen?
Jo Crawshaw : Likely because of my interesting background and story- how I ended up in South Africa and the work I am doing here now.  Also- my focus on and experience in social media-both in my personal and professional life. I am also a boxer and I opened my own boxing studio here in Johannesburg to empower women. 

Mika Stefano:  What makes you interesting/ stand out from the crowd?
Jo Crawshaw : I’m British, but I’ve spent most of my adult life in Africa.  Prior to Johannesburg, I lived in Ghana. I’m a musician – I have played the violin since the age of 6 and the guitar since  11. I also enjoy singing. But the coolest is I am a female boxer.

Mika Stefano: I would love to get into boxing… But Im scared…lol.. What special survival skills or experiences have prepared you for ‘SOS Island?’
Jo Crawshaw: I’ve done a lot of traveling off of the regular path- in areas some might find dangerous- and I have found myself in dangerous situations. When I was 16 I spent some time in Peru, I was backpacking with friends deep in the Amazon. One of my friends started having bad pains in her abdomen; we thought it may be appendicitis. We had to leave in the middle of the night to get her help. One time I was climbing in the South of France on one of the most advanced routes or problems as they call them, even though I was definitely a novice. I only had one choice- to go up. I think this is metaphor for life. 

Mika Stefano: What’s one of the coolest things you’ve ever done?
Jo Crawshaw: The thing I’m most proud of is opening my own boxing NGO- it’s always been a dream of mine.  I’m helping women learn self-defense/learn to box professionally and also supporting charities. We work with trainers around Johannesburg to teach 16 girls to box professionally- they are called “Urban Amazonians.” Part the “Amazonians’” training to is help other girls around SA learn self-defense

Mika Stefano: How do your family/friends feel about you going to the island?
JoCrawshaw: My brother says that if I win an island he gets half of it. I have a really supportive team behind me- I know they will be cheering me on and voting for me

Mika Stefano:  Why do you think you will win Samsung SOS Island?
Jo Crawshaw: I’m tenacious, adventurous, and a quick learner. I have a very positive attitude.  I’m not afraid to make mistakes, but failing is not an option

Mika Stefano: What will you do with your island if you win?
Jo Crawshaw: I would throw a massive island party- everyone who votes for me is invited!

MikaStefano: Well I best be VIP… 🙂 Why do you feel you are the best to represent COUNTRY?
Jo Crawshaw: I would love for my potential fans to read a blog I wrote called “Ten things I love about Joberg” I’ve gotten calls from people who are sad that it took a foreigner to appreciate how awesome the city is.
Seven live episodes will be streamed from the remote island on Oct. 7-19 where viewers will be able to interact with the contestants live and in the moment on social media. The episodes will feature communal life and the personalities of the eight contestants.

Twelve taped, challenge episodes will be streamed beginning Oct. 22 after the contestants return to their homes. The competition continues as they will have to use their social media savvy to encourage fans to continue to vote through Nov. 30.

One winner will be announced on Dec. 9 after the scores are tallied to take home the coveted private island prize package, valued at $100,000 USD.

For more information on the “SOS Island: Survival of the Smartest” campaign, please visit www.sos-island.com.
Join me in supporting our African sister…

One thought on “Well done to Jo Crawshaw who is representing South Africa in the SOS Island

  1. Simply wish to say your article is as astounding.
    The clarity for your put up is simply nice and that i could assume you’re an expert in this subject.

    Fine with your permission let me to seize your RSS feed
    to keep up to date with approaching post. Thank you 1,000,
    000 and please carry on the gratifying work.

Leave a Reply

