Anele / Awards / Bonang / Celeb Spottings / Fashion, Beauty & Style / Nicole Flint / Pabi Moloi / Poppy / Roxy Burger / Shashi Naidoo / SPOTTED / Thulane Hadebe / Ty Keogh

Spotted at the SA Style Awards

After many years of always hearing about the Style Awards, I was lucky enough to scoop up an invite to this fancy annual event. Celebrating the most stylish celebs in Mzanzi, this annual event celebrated it’s 16th year in grand style at the Hyde Park hotel. The “who’s-who” of SA celebs were there… I mean, if Leanne Liebenburg is at your event, you know its a TOP SHAYELA event.

I was lucky enough to test drive the new Volvo #V40 for the weekend and this was how I arrived to the SA Style Awards. No need for me to dress up, with this car as my accessory… It was my first time driving an automatic and now I am hooked… I want an automatic… Its so easy… The theme of the SA Style Awards was WOW… Hence the WOW on my body…

My partner for the SA Style Awards was the oh so hunky DJ Snoop. He co hosts on my radio show on Trans Africa Radio. The ladies (and some guys) seemed to love him… I agree, he’s not bad looking. Then again, have you ever seen me rolling with an ugly guy…?

Here I am with two of the winners at the SA Style Awards. Radio personality, Anele and pop sensation, Toya Delazy. Anele walked away with the overall most stylish celeb in SA for 2012. (Yes, you read correctly….) I love Anele, she is outspoken and true to herself, but a style Icon? Word has it that she is dropping her own fashion range. Perhaps she will shock us all. I was pleased to hear the rumours of her own TV talk show are happening in early 2013. Move over Noleen, theres a new talk show on the block…

The strangest thing of the evening was witnessing Cameron van der Burgh walk away with a Style Icon award… (If there was ever a side eye moment, that was it…) If you Google the guy, and look at Images, all the pictures are of him topless. So, I dont know how you can call him a style icon. Apparently he didnt even attend the winners lunch. I guess who to thought the award was a joke… I spotted him chatting to the oh so sexy, oh so single Shashi Naidoo. Hopefully he was getting some style tips from her… I mean, she, is a stylish lady… But Cameron… SMH! Wish I snapped a picture of his girlfriend, who was wearing a wedding dress… Dress rehearsal maybe?

I was happy to see GQ’s stylist, Arthur Malan and his partner won best styled couple… Couldn’t agree more… These guys always look stylish… I would love to see them shopping at Pick n Pay… This was Toya’s first award… Hopefully it will be a taste of things to come at the SAMA’s in 2013… Hoping she will walk away with a few awards…

I was thrilled to see Lalla won an award… This girl is always stunning… Hopefully Dineo will get an award in 2013. Loved her white number she wore. She didnt seem comfortable in it, but I thought she looked fab… Loved the pants and detail on the jacket… She best get an award in 2013…

Someone else who I hope scoops an award is the always so stylish Roxy Burger. If you look through her Instagram, you will agree with me, that she is one stylish lady. Poppy is last years winner. When I first met Poppy, 5 years ago, she was just a T-Shirt and jeans kinda girl. But now she is a stylish, fashion icon…

Bonang looked stunning (as usual)… Wearing black lace and feathers… I am still shocked she hasnt won overall most stylish icon.

Greg Hammond won most stylish model. It was rather strange that at this fancy posh event, they asked him to strip. Not that I am complaining, but still… He and his girlfriend seemed very much in love… Couldn’t keep their hands off eachother… To be honest, I think Greg likes to undress… I mean, you spend so much time in gym, you best show it off…

Pabi Moloi rocked the crowd again… I am looking forward to her soulful debut album… I saw Lira and her chatting, I think Lira was impressed too… Pabi won the overall most stylish icon in 2011…

Talking about Lira… She looked stunning… She is such a lovely person… If there is anyone in this industry who is focused, it is her…

Rosie brought the girls out to play on this lovely summers evening… If you don’t know, she is the voice you hear on SAA. I listened to her voice for my whole 11 hour flight to Brazil and back… She was shocked I knew it was her voice…

The happy couple, Nicole and Ty looked great together… Perhaps, they scoop the most stylish couple award in 2013. I like her… I was shocked to see she has a tattoo… Thought Miss South Africa’s were not allowed. But she assured me she got it once she handed over the crown… I like these two… They are not pretentious.

Another ex Miss SA, Bokang was also there… This girl loves weaves. I would love to see her with out a weave…

Talking about hair, TV and radio personality, Liezel rocked a rather funky hairstyle. She said part of it was table mountain… But all I saw was the gay flag… I need to rock this hairstyle to London Pride…

Liezel also showed some leg in a green dress… She deserved this WOW!!!

Looking good in a silver suit was Mr Nice Guy, Kabelo… Here he is with Jen Su. I think Jen looked sassy in the silver dress… Kabelo recently dropped his music video, Impilo. Here is the video in case you still havent seen it…

Proper Kwaito song… SAMA’s 2013, we see you… Dunno why he’s not topless in the video…

Another hottie was male model, Maps. He was second place in the GQ most stylish men of 2011… Hopefully a style award is lined up for the near future… I had to take a picture of him on my knees, just so I can get an idea of what it would be like if I had to……….

Over all, it was a lovely evening. To see more pictures, visit my Facebook page… 

3 thoughts on “Spotted at the SA Style Awards

  1. Hey Mika, good seeing you at the Style Awards. This is Jason, Arthur Malan’s partner. So, I have a picture from a shoot I shot and styled for Rosenwerth a while back that perfectly captures what we get up to when we’re at Pick n Pay. I would love to send it to you (for a laugh, if nothing else). Where can I mail it?

  2. Just made three and they turned out fabulous!! I’m a volleyball player so the style of the shirt is great! I love your
    blog and you’re my inspiration to a healthy lifestyle! 🙂 Thanks for the cute tutorial and I would definitely be
    interested in buying a few of these shirts!its one of the greatest site of sexy tops.

Leave a Reply

