MiCasa

Mi Casa Nominated for MTV EMA Awards 2012

I still cant believe that on the 25th March 2011, I visited my friend Joao at Soul Candi to hear a new possibly project he was working on. The project was him and two other well known musicians; producer Dr Duda and the sexy brass player Mo-T. They formed a group called MiCasa.
I remember at first I didnt like the name, but then Joao explained that it means my house, and thats what they plan on being; SA’s first house band. I remember sitting in on their very first listening session and I almost fainted with excitment when I heard My Oh My (a track that is still not a single, but is on the album, you can hear it on the video below) and I knew from that very moment that my friend, Joao and his friends were about to rock South Africa BIG TIME. I got shivers, because not only were they talented, they were really excited and passionate about MI CASA.
I remember bumping into them at random parties and introducing Joao, Mo-T and DrDuda as the next big thing… And now look… (One could say I “called them”)

This was their first You Tube experience —

And now they are the biggest sensation in South African music… Yet, these three guys have still remained down to earth and passionate about their craft. I suppose that’s why they were the only South African act to be nominated for a MTV EMA in 2012. They are nominated against four other big African acts, Kenyan hip hop group, Camp Mulla, Sarkodie from Ghana and two Nigerian hip hop artists, WizKid and D’banja.

Joao had this to say, “it’s a proud moment for us to have our music recognised on the global stage. It’s an honour to be representing Africa and more importantly, South Africa.”

All I can say is I am so proud of these guys and I will be voting for them to scoop up an award. Below are all the details on how to vote for them, SO DO THE RIGHT THING…

One thought on “Mi Casa Nominated for MTV EMA Awards 2012

  1. I was never much of a house music fan until I saw Mi Casa perform live at this year’s Tourism Indaba in Durban, I was totally blown away by their performance, plus the white dude is all kinds of cute.

Leave a Reply

