#FocusMyFunds

#FocusMyFunds

If you remember I was part of an awesome campaign this year called #FocusMyFunds. The idea was simple, 5 bloggers from all over South Africa, each have 5 hours to raise as much money as possible. Sadly, I did not win the prize, but I managed to raise over R10 000.00 for SOHACA.

SOHACA is an organization based in Soweto. Their main mission is to offer counseling to people living with HIV AIDS. But another main issue the organization has dealt with is issues surrounding Gay and Lesbian rights. They deal with everything from MSM (Men who have sex with men. They dont think they are gay, but they still have sex with men… Ya stupid if you ask me.) Gender identity as well as corrective rape.It is an organization that deals with issues that are close to my heart.

They do amazing work in the Soweto area. I was surprised to learn that they also work in JHB CBD. I was lucky enough to meet the 23 main counselors. All these amazing people are involved on a volunteer basis. We sat around and spoke about the work they do. It was amazing to see young, gay and non gay people making a change in their community.

They were star struck when I told them some of the awesome celebs who donated. With over 10 top South African celebs donating to the charity. With a long list of people including Carol Ralefeta, Pabi Moloi, International model Joelle, DJ Fresh, Anele, Vuyo, Catherine, T-Bo Touch, Zakes Bantwini, Bailey Schneider, Vuzu’s Lala, Roxy Burger, Mi Casa, Sade, Lunga Shabalala, Bonang, Lyle Volkwyn, Playboy’s Tshego, The Tank Top DJ’s, HoodHighFashion, Chad, Tebello and many other cool friends. In addition to all the celebs who supported a few corporate companies and friends donated. Some of these included Standard Machine Tools, Soul Candi, MinxNails, Blaque Magazine, Fuel Media, MatchWorld, Fancy Affairs, Mielle, Buzz Publicity, Liquid Chefs, Trans Africa Media and Exit Newspaper.

I was going to have a raffle and give a prize to a lucky winner, but I have decided against it. Celebrity nail stylist, Michell Sierra and The Pyramid Day Spa both offered treatments as a prize for the winner, but I have spoke to them and they will treat Thulani (the creator of SOHACA, in the picture above in the orange) to a mini make over. Thulani is an openly gay diva. And I think he deserves it more then anyone…
Sould Candi and Blaque magazine also offered prizes as part of the raffle and I will give these to SOHACA. Thank you to my sponsors. Your support means a lot.

Thank you to everyone who donated money, to the sponsors and media who supported me with this amazing charity drive. Thank you to Dale, Enzo and the Gay SA Flag who joined me for the fun ride around Johannesburg and a huge thank you to Ford for allowing me to do a project like this…

If you would still like to contribute to SOHACA or would like more info about the work they do, please contact me, so I can link you with Thulani.

Below, some of the amazing people who contributed to the SOHACA #FocusMyFunds Charity Drive

To see more pictures from the other bloggers challenge click here

One thought on “#FocusMyFunds

Leave a Reply

