Events / SPOTTED

Spotted at the Rolling Stones launch…

Last night I gate crashed (whats new…. Can these PR agencies save my email) the launch of ROLLING STONES South Africa.

Firstly, what a thug like picture… Two people asked me for my comments on the cover…lol… But I think it is awesome that this magazine, with a steep music history has landed in Africa. Combining out rich local talent with the glossy pages of one of the worlds most read magazines will only highlight some of our musicians and put them on the same par as our international brothers and sisters…

The launch took place in the middle of town in the medical mews building, known as Lister building… It was sad that it rained, as the venue is on the roof and we were all forced to party in the lobby area. But that didnt stop the crowd from rocking on and rocking hard…

I was lucky enough to be caught in the lift with one of South Africa’s most talented lyricists, Tumi. I was also lucky enough to meet his lovely wife… I must say, I am liking this swag Tumi is pushing… Very iconic. (GQ please make a note!) He performed with The Volume and they got the crowd excited… I swear I heard him singing some kwaito hits in his performance…

Chilling in the lobby, was the ever so chilled Slikour. In a Butan T-Shirt as usual… (He needs to hook me up before Cape Town)…

I caught him with the beautiful Jen Bala. They were catching up about his recent Mexican holiday… I like Jen, didnt spot Loyiso tho… (Not that they always have to be together, but…. ) She was so star struck to see 3 times Metro FM winner, AKA

Funny thing is AKA has recorded with Loyiso Bala on Loyiso’s last album…

AKA has fast become the new “IT” boy. He wore his usual skinni tie and teamed it up with a cool emerald green jacket. V- Entertainment asked me who I would like to see on the next cover of Rolling Stones and I said, besides Mika Stefano, I wouldnt mind seeing AKA… First cover with an all time legend and the second cover will celebrate a new, over night legend…

Da Les was also there… He was covering his tattoo that he got done the night before. (read post below)… I wonder if Da Les and AKA are cool?

Vuzu’s Lalla looked gorgeous as usual… Not cool, I mean, she comes straight from work, where she has had her make up done by a professional and we arrive with a face that has been made up in the car, in the car park… Apparently she spends over 2 hours in hair and make up…

Roxy Burger, who was also made up nicely looked gorgeous in a bohemian styled outfit… I am loving this wide leg pants thing that she is doing… Very 70’s chic…

Lorna Maseko is also a make up girl… You would swear she went to a make up school not an art school. (she went to the same school as me…)
So excited to see her cover shoot for Shape Magazine…But she made me look like a chop in the RGB interview… The question is what would you like to be remembered for, and I replied, my body… then her skinny self jumped in and pointed to my belly… Mixm…

YFMs Ob and Eda Rose also popped by… Eda had a new “Plus 1” for the evening… Very creative style… Very early 90’s… (Thinking back on The Fresh Price of Bel Air, Will’s mother…)

Selimathunzi presenter, Lunga Shabalala was hard at work… He was to busy to pose for a picture… Either that or to scared…lol… Nah, he’s a cool guy, altho he said I am an instigator… Agg, if you hot, then you hot… And we all think Lunga is hot… Must I lie and say he’s not… Anyways, he was beyond happy to interview Bra Hugh, that he even took to Twitter to tweet how happy he was. That should be worth a watch next week on Selimathunzi.

GQ’s 9th best dressed man in the country was there… I still dont understand how he got 9th best dressed? (Thulane, Ntando, Hlelo, GQ please explain… asseblief) agg, I like him tho, he is a cool guy… He is meant to send me his blog link, to share with you… As soon as I get it, so will you…

Tasha Baxter was all over my V-Entertainment interview… We ended up singing and making a duet… (perhaps…. Nudge Nudge)

She was rocking an awesome pair of heels… How hot!!!!

Overall, it was a great event. Pity about the rain…
I look forward to spending Saturday afternoon paging through the magazine…

One thought on “Spotted at the Rolling Stones launch…

  1. I do not know if it’s just me or if everybody else encountering issues with your blog.
    It seems like some of the text on your posts are running off the screen.
    Can someone else please comment and let me know if this is happening to
    them too? This might be a problem with my browser because I’ve had this happen previously.

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

