Awards / Events

The Feather Awards

Wow,where do I begin.

So a lot of people know that I openly disagree with the idea of the Feather Awards. I mean, they still sell it as a gay awards show celebrating gay icons. Yet their are no gay nominees and very few gay judges. (as a matter of interest, who were the judges?) Anyways, seeing as I am not a bitter old queen, and have a strong case of FOMO, I decided to rob a Christmas tree and attend the 2011 FEATHER AWARDS. Even though I have been “banned” I felt it fitting that I was their, I mean, I am the face of the Gay Flag of South Africa.
Anyway’s, I must applaud Thami and his team. Even though I dont really agree with the Awards, they were a lovely evening and he did a job well done. They have become a highlight in the social calenders and a lot of fun.

In my blog post, I will highlight both the celebs and the influential gay people in my life… After all, thats what its about…

The Awards were opened by a group performance of a group of dancers and singers, performing a remake of Beyonce’s Girls Run The World.. Part of the group was well known actor S’bu Radebe as well as the ever so flamboyant Amstel and the bootylicious Bujy. A well choreographed dance piece and was the perfect way to open the evening, after all “GAYS RUN THIS MOTHER”. Another highlight was the performance by Somizi. He went on to say  he used to be SomGAGA and now he is SomHARA…. His comic timing was well exectued and he brought the house down when he sang “DJ CLEO COULD HAVE HAD IT ALL….”…lol… Only Somizi (or should I say Gigi) could do a performance like that! Hands down SomGAGA killed it! Kuli Roberts and Kenneth (Santa Clause) Nkosi were the hosts.  Ya ne… I guess thats what happens when you put their dressing room right next to the open bar… You have to love Kuli and just lol or LMFAO at her…. She should host the South African version of “YO MAMMA” We could call it “JOU MA SE” (but that could rehash some bad vibes” She looked nice in her sponsored dress. She is a character and you just have to love her…
Between us, I would love to see the Feather Awards grow to new heights… A staged, Televised production is due. And the Feathers are the perfect replacement of the Duku Duku Awards. (How I wish those were still around)…
But on the real, well done Thami and everyone else involved. Also, well done to the sponsors…

Now lets see who was there. And who was wearing what…

Lets get the nasty plebs out of the way….

Onto someone who actually stole the show, ZAHARA. This was her very first award. She is such a sweet, down to earth lady. With a wiff of cigarettes, she seems so real. And I guess thats what we love about her.

I just dont know if this poor girl is ready for all this media attention. I mean people compare her album sales to Brenda Fassie, but her public persona is far from Mabrrrrr. I like her tho and just hope the flashing lights dont overwhelm her.

The YFM girls looked pretty in pink… All shades of pink…
I must say, I like the twins with the short mohawk look. Looks like Dineo likes the look too…
If you didnt know, Dineo has a fashion label and she dressed her co host, Bujy. She is becoming a well rounded women, well done Dineo…

YFM’s sexy (and becoming even sexier) DJ Warras wore pink too… Perhaps it was a YFM thing? All YFM DJ’s to wear pink. I can just see the email…lol…
He was meant to be DJ-ing… I didnt see him on the decks… 😦 Perhaps thats why the music was so pap.

His co host/producer, Tumi Voster also wore pink. (surprise, Surprise) She is a bit of a diva wannabee….

YFM’s bombshell, Bonang looked gorgeous (Whats new!) She won the award for Best Styled Female. She was styled by Ntatho and the dress is a Gert Johan dress. Everytime i see Bonang I feel like saying “YOU BITCH” I mean she is doing it all. TV, Radio, Modeling the works… So excited for her new cover…
Lalla, from Vuzu fame looked so so so cute…

She came with her boyfriend, Chris. (that sounds wrong…)
They looked so cute together. (If they still together in 2012, they should scoop the award for cutest couple)
I mean, they even have matching takkies…. aaaah, noechoo noechoo.

Someone who is known for her shoes, is Channel O presenter, Weza. She wore a revealing dress…. look at all that leg… This week is going to be a busy week for her and Lalla, with the Channel O Awards. I guess thats why the both left early…

Tamara Dey also didnt stay too late. She presented the award for Fag Hag of the year… She is trying a whole new black and white look. She has black hair with white streaks, and black and white Minx nails… I am not too sure about the black hair. I loved my red headed Tamara…

Koyo from 3sum is also well known for his hair. I see there is a bit of a style going on now… Halala Koyo…

Celeb fashion designer, who was also blond recently was there. Like me, he dug into the candy floss…

My fav diva, Lira looked lovely in a blue number… (I too, was wearing blue… Exclusive Memo went out to us…). She told us she is going on holiday for four months, and then I looked at her belly to see if she is pregnant (it is the latest trend) but she said no… In fact she isn’t planning on having children for the next few years. She wants to continue touring and then become a mother. Makes sense. I swear Lira is a true lady…

I caught her chatting to my other fav song bird KB. KB was wearing a David Tlale creation… Guys, do me a favour, go out and get yourself a copy of KB’s latest album. It is amazing…

Winner of the Social Butterfly Award, Jen Su looked cute… She seems to have introduced a few highlights to her look. When she won, she sang…lol… Only Jen Su. She is such a sport…

Edith Venter won the award for Diva of the Year, after they announced Noeleen as the winner. Apparently there was a typo and Edith was the actual winner… A typo? (Not gonna comment on that. SMH) She too was a good sport and continued to say how impressed she was on the event.

Another diva, Iko Mash looked lovely in a silver zebra jump suit. Very sexy. I swear Iko should get a TV show wear he can teach some girls how to put on their make up…

Here she is with my friend Dale. I have to be honest, Dale’s jacket was AMA-ZING!… So Gaga meets Gert Johan. Loved the studs…

Here is Iko again…lol… (she is the original Social Butterfly after all)…
With Radio personality, Lupi and ex Selimathunzi presenter Kaos. Lupi is such a nice guy, even though we hardly spoke, I sensed he was a nice person. Would love to get to know him. Before he announced his award, he mentioned us gays need to stand together and stop bitching, but rather be happy and smart… I agree… Well said…
Kaos didnt want to take a picture alone, but before I knew it, Lupi, Iko and myself all got a picture with him.

New Selimathunzi presenter, Lunga Shabalala looked good in his suit. So good, I almost had a whole photoshoot with him…

I didnt know what picture to post, so I posted both….lol…. #hides.
He is nominated for Sowetan’s sexist celeb.

Someone else who is also nominated for Sowetan’s sexiest celeb, is Twitterholic (I kid you not, look she’s tweeting in this pic #truestory #death), @Boity. She too wore a dust shade of pink. I honestly dont think this weave looks good on her… But besides this weave, I think she is cute. Funny thing is all my straight guy friends find her so so so sexy… Ya ne… Dynamite.

Someone who doesnt come in a small package, DJ Sbu… What a mighty personality he has. He too wore pink; a pink Vandal Tshirt… I would love to go out for lunch with Sbu (#NoHomo) Just to get to know the man behind DJ SBU…He must pay tho… I am just a poor blogger…

Phat Joe presented an award. Here he is with a friend/fan… She must have thought I was the electric Thunda.com.
I think I should be Phat Joe’s co host. Even for just one link…

Nolo Phiri and the man himself, Kenneth. I went to school with Nolo. #JustSaying…

Funny man Trevor kept a bit of a low profile. I was so happy to see his column in the Cosmopolitan. I didnt know he was an agony aunt…

Aunti, Rosie was also all sequenced out…. Had to sparkle…I used to love her weave back in the days of her role in Generations…

City Press Columnist, Mokgadi looked cute in a black and white colab.

Editor of Seventeen Magazine, Janine was in town. She is sporting a new hair style (Must be the hottest trend in Cape Town). She was wearing a Thula Sindi dress.

New girl on the blog post roll, Allegro was there. She was filming for OrgellaTV, part of her website… Click here to watch a sneak peak.

Also in purple, Jafta. He was nominated for social butterfly of the year… Random, I know… Was obvious Jen Su was going to take that award.

C-Ga, who is fast becoming a socialite should be nominated for this award for 2012. #TrueStory.

TV personality, Aaron was also there. He sure did have a lot of make up on…

David Tlale wore a white something… Ya, it was a white something…

Ephy also wore blue… (I tell you, blue is in…)

Kenny was the man of the evening. He walked away with the most awards…
We took this picture, while he was filming for his TV show. (So i may be on his show this week…)

His camera crew came up onto stage with him…lol… and then he told them to move… #Deathby “From prison to accepting this award” and “I was at the gay pride”

My fav new group, Mi Casa got the crowd dancing. Was kak that they had a tecnical issue at first, but as soon as they sorter it, they rocked the crowd. They even had pregnant Pam Andrews singing and dancing along.

Melanie, Hypress tweeted away from the balcony. If you were following her, you would have noticed, if not, then you should start following @Hypress

Craze presenter, Zola was wearing church attire again… Can someone PLEASE get this boy a stylist… Please Please Please!

Celeb make up artist…. or should I say “working Make Up Artist” – as he highlighted, was there. Vuyo was colour blocking…

PR Guru, Vista wore the cheekiest shorts… How cute… He, together with Sylvester presented the award for Socialite of the year.

Sylvester Chauke & Keke Chele

Tebbie Mol

Mr Wonted acting all camera shy

Three of Jozi’s hottest male models kept my hands entertained. Max Mmethi still has a rock hard six pack. Do yourself a fava, if you see him, go and touch those abs… Modimo!

Stylist, Felipe arrived late. He also attended the SunglassHut Event.

Major socialites, Linda and Shakes looked cute together. Loved Linda’s tracksuit pants… Thumbs Up on the look!

Amstel looking more and more like a drag queen was prancing around like a Dreamgirl…

Aubrey Poo of Dreamgirls fame, was nominated for Hunk of the Year.

Well done again to Thami. When I caught him close to the end of the evening, he had slipped his shoes off and was looking for a chair to sit down in. Poor guy must have been bushed from all the hard work put into this GLAM.R.US event… Well done again…

One last look at my outfit…
T’is the season to be jolly…

 

7 thoughts on “The Feather Awards

  1. Luvly event;-).deathby zola’s church boi couture tendencies *dead* nd Vista’s smyl lmao tltl..big upz 2 my divo Amstel (die hard stan ryt here) xo

  2. Great article. I’m also a bit anti Feathers but its good that the events were a success. Its getting better, they just need to work on those nominations, and involving the community.

Leave a Reply

