Awards

METRO FM’s Awards Breakfast…

METRO FM held a snazy champagne breakfast at the secluded upmarket FAIRWAYS GOLF ESTATE. It was my first time at this hidden spot in Jozi, but SPHE guaranteed me that it will be well worth the drive. And it was… A lovely plush venue, something like a scene from Bold and the Beautiful or a fancy movie.
I was welcomed and ushered into the dinning hall. Wow! I felt beyond under dressed. I felt like I was off to a wedding or BahMitzVah… Very OTT… I found myself asking “Im sure a press release would have been fine”…lol… But I am not the type to say no to a free breakfast, so I zipped my mouth and I helped myself to the sauteed mushrooms… Nyom Nyom!

There werent as many artists at the breakfast. I think it was more for the media, Metro FM family and record labels.

The lovely Carol Ralefeta was their. This time she had proper shoes on… Last time she broke her heel and had to present the awards in wedges. (luckily she had a back up pair in the boot) This time she allowed William LeHong and Zeal to present the awards. Carol’s make up looked lovely. She is a proffesional make up artist (by the by)…

Fezo, who is the producer of the Pre Party with Sphe and Naves looked gorgeous in a pair of red high waisted flared pants.

She attended with some of Jozi’s finest ladies… Sisi in the middle is married to hip hop giant, Amu. These girls look like they are part of the cast of a Tyler Perry movie…

The girls chilled with the ever so funny Koyo… Perhaps, because blonds have all the fun.

Songbird,  Nothende was also there. Was the first time I actually met her. Like me, she also didnt dress up for the breakfast…

Kwela Tebza dressed up in Indian looking outfits… (I wore this to SAMA’s… can they stop trying to bite my swag…) Apparently they also wore these outfits to Khanyi’s Birthday. Repeat offense!! Aladin, Sinbad and Rumplestilsteink must just let it go…

I had a chance to catch up with Lunga Shabalala, who has just recently returned from New York. He told me about some of the things he got up to in the big apple and now I cant wait to see New York city. Was cross he didnt go to Broadway! How can you not go to Broadway, when in New York? He said he is not a musical fan… But still, you have to go to Broadway. He is also working on a few exciting projects, but I will let you know as soon as I get the green light. He was filming for Selimathunzi, so I am sure you will see what he thought of the event next week.

Craze presenter was also there… He is becoming a Social Butterfly. I have seen him three times this week. He has a pair of yellow slated sunglasses… SMH!!! Thank god he wasnt wearing them… Can we please get him a stylist… Please!Iko Mash, please rescue this dear soul… It is the season for giving…

Pearl looked extra cute as always… Love purple on her.

Nigerian Jazz guitarist, Kunle Ayo was chuffed to have received a nomination… He is a friendly guy… Like him…

Here is a list of the nominee’s….
Dont understand best styled… But let me zip it…

BEST COMPILATION

  1. Terance -Music box 5 (home and away)
  2. Vinny Da Vinci-Deep house sounds vol 8
  3. Glen Lewis- House avenue 6

BEST PRODUCED ALBUM

  1. Zahara- Loliwe
  2. Culoe De Song- elevation
  3. 3. AKA- Altar ego

BEST DANCE ALBUM

  1.  Culoe De Song- Elevation
  2.  Black Motion- talking to the drums
  3. DJ C’ndo- finest lady of house vol 4

BEST AFRICAN POP

  1. Ntando- Izaga (proverbs)
  2. Theo Kgosinkwe- Grateful
  3.  Madoda-Mzizi

BEST FEMALE ALBUM

  1.  KB- Run free ( the evolution)
  2. Nondumiso Tembe- izwi lami
  3.  Zahara- Loliwe

BEST URBAN GOSPEL

  1. Rebecca- ukuthula
  2. Tshwane Gospel Choir- Modimo wa mehlolo
  3. We will Worship- The movemeant begins

BEST GROUP ALBUM

  1. Micasa- Micasa music
  2. Big Nuz- Pound for pound
  3.  C9ine- Sound garden

BEST HIP HOP ALBUM

  1. AKA- Altar ego
  2.  Morale- Smile, clap & bow
  3. Tuks- Tshwanelo

BEST CONTEMPORARY JAZZ

  1.  Judith Sephuma- I am a living testimony
  2. Swazi Dlamini- Gospel meets jazz (live in durban)
  3.  Kunle Ayo- Best of both worlds

BEST KWAITO ALBUM

  1.  Spikiri- The king don father 2.5
  2. Big Nuz- Pound for pound
  3.  Bullistic- Hollow point

BEST MALE

  1. Kabomo- All things grey
  2.  Spikiri- The king don father 2.5
  3.  HHP- Motswafrika

BEST NEWCOMER

  1. Micasa
  2. Zahara
  3. AKA

BEST R&B ALBUM

  1.  Nothende- Lovelight
  2. Lloyd Jansen- Lloyd Jansen
  3.  Keeno Lee- Revolution

SONG OF THE YEAR

  1. Zahara – Loliwe
  2.  Big Nuz – Sting Ray
  3. Micasa – These streets

BEST STYLED ARTIST/ GROUP

  1. Somizi
  2.  Nkuli Dube
  3. Theo Kgosinkwe

HIT SINGLE OF THE YEAR

  1.  Big Nuz – Sting ray
  2. DJ Sbu ft Zahara – lengoma
  3. Character – EX

BEST COLLABORATION OF THE YEAR

  1. Morale feat. Zola – Ayamaah
  2. AKA, Tumi, HHP, Amu – Victory Lap remix
  3. L-Tido feat. K.O – We rolling

BEST MUSIC VIDEO

  1. Mi Casa – These Streets
  2. Nondumiso Tembe – He’s just a guy
  3. AKA – All I Know

 

One thought on “METRO FM’s Awards Breakfast…

Leave a Reply

