Events

Phelo Bala’s CD Launch…

To get me out on a Monday evening is close to impossible. Even though The New Age suggest I am a red carpet whore, Monday nights are the one night this whore likes to put his feet up and just watch re runs of Will & Grace and Fraser on Sony. But, when I got the invite to the listening session, I knew I would have to give Will & Grace a miss. So I braved the cold, lured my two straight boyfriemds, Saz and Raya nd we made our way to CoFi in Rosebank for the exclusive listening session of Phelo’s new album.
Now you may have heard Phelo singing together with his two brothers, Zwai and Loyiso. But he has now found his own flow and after four years of hard work, he has just completed his first solo project.
I must say, after listening to the first 4 singles, I am already loving it. And as much as I love Loyiso Bala, I wouldnt be upset if he had to retire and allow his baby brother to fill his shoes as one of SA’s music legends. On listening to some of the songs, you can already hear he is a legend in the making. And I am no musical fundi, but I can tell he has a better vocal range then Loyiso and Zwai.
I have not removed the CD (sampler) since I received it… HIGH ROTATION. And I can not wait till the full album lands up in my car shuttle. Like Loyiso’s Full Circle, it is a pop album. Catchy songs, well written lyrics and pure fuzzy feelings whilst listening to the songs…

Phelo B has found his own. He has what it takes to become a top South African artist. I am pretty confident the SAMA’s18 will give him a few nods. He is talented and cute and he dresses well too…

The thing that makes the Bala brothers special, is that they are really close. Like the Kardashian’s, they may not all be the same, but they are a tight family… It was special to see Mel Bala and Jen Bala (almost) both there supporting young Phelo.

#HomoNoHomo caught up with Phelo for an exclusive interview. Be sure to tune into #HomoNoHomo this Sunday. Follow me on Twitter for more details. and will add podcast next week.


Mr. Vandal came in, looking all swaggerlicious. I had to take a second glance, coz I couldnt recognise him with all that facial hair… It must be cold in Ekhuruleni… I caught DJ Sbu dancing to one of Phelo’s songs… (That’s a good sign)

Mam Uyanda and her handbag were there. He called me Solly. I was shocked, especially after he served me with the lawyers letters… But I aint gonna bitch, cause as I type this, I forgot his name too…lol… *hides behind Uyanda’s Jimmy Choo’s*

Janine from Elle magazine and the trainee trophy wife academy was there in a winter wardrobe.  I thought it was a snoot, but she schooled me and showed me it was just a scarf, nje…. She has skills I tell you. She went on to twitter, to say she is already a fan of Phelo… (I RT’d her)

Lutho John came thru to support his boy, Phelo. You may recognize Lutho from a few pantomimes and twitter. A bit of a Twitter celeb…

Talking about Twitter Celeb, Trevor was there…
This guy is a clown… He did a voice drop for Saz and I  for HomoNoHomo and he got poor Saz’s name wrong…
Listen —>>>

He then told us about some show of his… I clearly havent been recieveing press releases from Mzanzi Magic, coz I had no idea?

The sexy Stevel was there…
Can I have a moment, while I print this picture and find a dark corner to look at it in…
Heaven help me…

I couldn’t resist. And he still has that 6 pack…
I tried to sneak a peak… But he didnt allow for any of that… Aaah, Stevel, didnt they teach you in Jamaica that sharing is caring…

Another Twitter celeb, Boity was also there. This pretty little thing just scored herself a place on the FHM top 100 sexiest women’s poll… Before Eva… Halala…
She told me about her obsession with Smashbox. The new Mac…

Lyle from Popstars also came thru to show love. He was wearing his HAT again…

Sexy Channel O presenter SK was also there… He too is busy recording a few tracks… Possibly he came through to suss out the competition…?

Crosstrainer owner and fashion guru, Jullian was so excited to be involved in the launch of Phelo’s album. Over the past few years, Crosstrainer has shown their support to various young South African brands. (I like that! Well Done…After all we are a global society. Have both international and local…)
The two Mrs Bala’s were there to show their support to their nephew, Phelo.
I admire that in the Bala’s. They support each other… 🙂

Siya from Siz n Scoop also came through to show some love…
He was looking fresh as usual… I think I need to suggest to Jullian and Crosstrainer that they make Siya one of the faces of Crosstrainer. The guy is stylish…

We also got a name drop from him for the #HomoNoHomo show, and we asked him if the rumour he’s got going, is true? (That Sizwe Dlhomo and Mika Stefano are a couple)
This is what he had to say…

We caught up with Phelo after the launch to chat about his album and this is what he had to say…

I must be honest, I haven’t taken the CD out of my car CD player. It is pure pop, its catchy and he is talented. I suggest you get yourself a copy, or at least give it a listen…

Leave a Reply

